Back to Top

Before We Were Yours: A Novel

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT—A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly Bestseller

For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”*

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

*Library Journal

Publishers Weekly’s #3 Longest-Running Bestseller of 2017 • Winner of the Southern Book Prize • If All Arkansas Read the Same Book Selection 

“A [story] of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets.”—People

“Sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you’ll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann’s legacy.”—Parade

Reblogged 3 months ago from www.amazon.com

Comments

Anonymous says:

Novel built on truth The Tennessee Children’s Home run by Georgia Tann did exist for decades. The stories of children whisked away from poor parents, as they walked to school, were born in hospitals, played on their front porches, is a sad tale of the subterfuge used by this woman who made millions on “adoption fees”. In many cases, the children were adopted by wealthy parents, satisfied by their obtaining the child they had so wanted. But, there were others, who disappeared forever, were abused in the children’s…

Anonymous says:

A great read about a shameful past practice I wasn’t familiar with Lisa Wingate’s books before I read “Before We Were Yours” but I’ll be looking for others now that I’ve read it. I was drawn fully into the story, set in both the 1930s and present day. It follows the story of the Foss children in the ’30s and Avery Stafford in present day, and brings to light a horrifying and shameful real-life scandal.From the ’30s to 1950, a woman named Georgia Tann, who ran the (Memphis) Tennessee Children’s Home Society, stole…

Write a comment

*