Back to Top

Beneath a Scarlet Sky: A Novel

Soon to be a major television event from Pascal Pictures, starring Tom Holland.

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, the USA Today and #1 Amazon Charts bestseller Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours.

Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He’s a normal Italian teenager—obsessed with music, food, and girls—but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.

In an attempt to protect him, Pino’s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier—a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler’s left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich’s most mysterious and powerful commanders.

Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.

Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.

Product Features

  • Beneath a Scarlet Sky: A Novel Hardcover

Reblogged 9 months ago from www.amazon.com

Comments

Anonymous says:

How is this so popular? Maybe I’m being too critical, but I have been struggling with this story for a while now. Originally I was attracted to this novel by its never-before-told aspect along with its emphasis on Italy and the often-overlooked heroes within that country. I had previously read “From Sand and Ash” which first introduced me to this branch of WW2 history even though it was a completely fictitious story. I expected “Beneath a Scarlet Sky” to provide a more accurate account of a real-life person who had…

Anonymous says:

Embarrassingly bad. Worse than The Nightingale, for those able to relate. Very poorly written with countless impossible and eyeroll-worthy sequences of events. I was tempted to give it 3 stars only in the hope that someone on the fence would come across my review and treat it as more valid. Absolutely no character development and minimal association with actual history. I don’t typically take the time to review anything but given the billions of 5-star reviews this book somehow has, I felt the need. I’m stopping a third of the way through and going back to…

Write a comment

*