Back to Top

The Tuscan Secret: An absolutely gripping, emotional, World War 2 historical novel

Il Mulino. An old crumbling mill, by a winding river, nestled in the Tuscan mountains. An empty home that holds memories of homemade pasta and Nonna’s stories by the fire, and later: the Nazi invasion, and a family torn apart by a heartbreaking betrayal.

Anna is distraught when her beloved mother, Ines, passes away. She inherits a box of papers, handwritten in Italian and yellowed with age, and a tantalising promise that the truth about what happened during the war lies within.

The diaries lead Anna to the small village of Rofelle, where she slowly starts to heal as she explores sun-kissed olive groves, and pieces together her mother’s past: happy days spent herding sheep across Tuscan meadows cruelly interrupted when World War Two erupted and the Nazis arrived; fleeing her home to join the Resistenza; and risking everything to protect an injured British soldier who captured her heart. But Anna is no closer to learning the truth: what sent Ines running from her adored homeland?

When she meets an elderly Italian gentleman living in a deserted hamlet, who flinches at her mother’s name and refuses to speak English, Anna is sure he knows more about the devastating secret that tore apart her mother’s family. But in this small Tuscan community, some wartime secrets were never meant to be uncovered…

A stunning tale, inspired by true events, about how the tragic consequences of war can echo through generations, and how love can guide us through the darkest times. Fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and The Letter by Kathryn Hughes will be captivated.

Readers have fallen in love with The Tuscan Secret:

‘Wow! Why have I not read anything by this author before? The writing is magnificent… A story of love, lose, secrets and hope… I have truly fallen in love… A beautiful, touching story that I would recommend to everyone.’ Cooking the Books

‘A fabulous historical fiction story… wonderful… Angela Petch is now added to my favourite author list… The rich details of the story are captivating. A must read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Wow what a story… could not put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Fantastic read… I loved this book…I would highly recommend.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Excellent book!… will grab you and hold onto you long after you put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘A feast of a book… transports you to Tuscany.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘This beautifully woven story had me captivated from the start… I could not help but LOVE the descriptions of Tuscany, the countryside, the people and the food.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘I was gripped… The author weaves a magical tale… There is so much beautiful detail in the author’s writing, one could almost taste the food, or feel the beauty of the surroundings.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘The story was beautifully told… a wonderful tale of self-discovery… A great read, with characters who will stay with you long after the book is closed.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘This is a beautifully written book… an ending that took me quite by surprise.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘It had all the ingredients I love – secrets of the past, dusty documents, a house left to someone in the present day…’ The Book Trail

This book was previously published as Tuscan Roots.

Reblogged 3 weeks ago from www.amazon.com

Comments

Anonymous says:

A two generational love story. When we (Americans) study about the great wars in our history classes, it is mainly about the advance/retreat of armies, the estimated casualties, and the eventual winners/losers. Classroom time does not allow us to study in depth, the personal stories, the joys the sorrows, the struggles for daily survival of the innocent civilians and citizens of the countries at war. Books like “The Tuscan Secret”, albeit a work of fiction, has been researched enough to provide the reader with an accurate…

Anonymous says:

Wonderful, wonderful book!

Write a comment

*