Back to Top

Mother Earth Father Sky (The Ivory Carver Trilogy Book 1)

A young woman fights for survival amid the brutality of the last Ice Age
It’s 7056 BC, a time before history. On the first day that Chagak’s womanhood is acknowledged within her Aleut tribe, she unexpectedly finds herself betrothed to Seal Stalker, the most promising young hunter in the village. A bright future lies ahead of Chagak—but in one violent moment, she loses her entire way of life. Left with her infant brother, Pup, and only a birdskin parka for warmth, Chagak sets out across the icy waters on a quest for survival and revenge. Mother Earth Father Sky is the first book of the Ivory Carver Trilogy, which also includes My Sister the Moon and Brother Wind.

Reblogged 1 year ago from


Anonymous says:

Excellent prehistoric “historical” novel This novel surprised me. I agree that prehistory is a tough sell. Do we really relate to a hunter-gatherer society? Sue Harrison is excellent at creating a heroic character, Chagak and a fascinating wise man as well as a brutal hunter, a patient suitor and much more. We even get to know Chagak’s mother, though she is dead. Her wisdom shines through the thoughts of Chagak as she struggles to not only survive, but prevail against a cruel environment and crueler still, the Short Ones who…

Anonymous says:

Wow–7,000 years ago! This is the first story in a trilogy that attempts to describe life among small village tribes that were living on the islands making up the land bridge between what we now call Russia, and North America. Life at that time seems to evoke a set of skills that rival the best contestants on “Survivor.” It certainly shows how far we’ve come in this modern world from being in touch with nature and knowing how to live off the land. Then, nothing in nature went to waste, and usually served more…

Write a comment